Australia Announced 17-Man Test Squad For Home Series Against India

49 0

Australia, on Thursday, introduced their Check squad for the upcoming four-match Border-Gavaskar Check Collection towards India at house. The hosts have named a robust 17-man squad consisting of highly-rated children Will Pucovski and Cameron Inexperienced.

The opposite uncapped gamers within the squad are Sean Abbott, Mitchell Swepson and Michael Neser. Cameron Inexperienced and Sean Abbott have earned their maiden Check call-up after glorious performances with bat and ball within the ongoing Marsh Sheffield Defend. The opposite uncapped gamers have additionally been rewarded for glorious performances within the home circuit.

Australia's Sean Abbott
Sean Abbott

Australia Check Squad Embody Will Pucovski And Cameron Inexperienced Primarily based On Home Performances In Sheffield Defend

Pacer Sean Abbott has featured in 1 ODI and four T20Is whereas leg break spinner Mitchell Swepson has performed a solitary T20I. Pacer all-rounder Michael Neser has performed 2 ODIs whereas 21-year-old Cameron Inexperienced and 22-year-old batsman Will Pucovski are but to play any format. All are but to function in Checks.

“What we noticed within the opening rounds of the Marsh Sheffield Defend have been various gamers performing exceptionally properly,” Australia’s Nationwide selector Trevor Hohns mentioned.

Will Pucovski
Will Pucovski. Picture Credit score: Getty Photos.

“Two of these many standout gamers have been after all Cameron Inexperienced and Will Pucovski. Their simple kind demanded choice and we’re very happy to have these younger males within the squad for what shall be an incredible Check Collection towards an especially formidable opponent,” he added.

22-year outdated Will Pucovski has made 495 runs at a mean of 247.5 within the opening rounds of the Sheffield Defend competitors this yr in 2 matches main the batting charts and shall be up towards Joe Burns for the opener’s slot. Joe Burns has up to now registered scores of seven, 29, 0, 10, 11 within the Sheffield Defend video games. Mitchell Swepson leads bowling chart with 23 wickets in three matches whereas Sean Abbott has 14 wickets.

Australia’s Will Pucovski And Cameron Inexperienced Are Distinctive Abilities: Trevor Hohns

Each Joe Burns and Will Pucovski have been named in Australia A squad for the 2 observe matches towards India, which may decide David Warner’s opening associate.

“Will’s file breaking begin to the summer season has been distinctive. His skill to indicate such persistence is one thing which stands him in good stead for Check cricket and he’s in uncommon firm with two double centuries to begin the summer season. We very a lot look ahead to Will growing additional on the worldwide stage,” Hohns mentioned.

Trevor Hohns
Trevor Hohns Photograph Credit score: Getty Photos.

Cameron Inexperienced, in the meantime, has been performing persistently with the bat within the ongoing Australian summer season home circuit and scored a career-best 197 towards New South Wales. Final month, he was named within the white-ball squad towards India. He has scored 363 runs averaging 72.6 in four matches.

“Cameron (Inexperienced) has already gained choice within the white ball squad and continues that in becoming a member of the Check squad. He is a superb younger expertise who has nice potential to develop into an all-rounder of substance over time. His batting alone has demanded his place within the squad,” Hohns mentioned.

Cricket Australia (THAT) additionally named a 19-player Australia A squad that options as many as 9 Check gamers from the principle squad together with captain Tim Paine. The four-match Check sequence between India and Australia begins on December 17 with the day-night Check in Adelaide.

Australia Check squad:

Sean Abbott, Joe Burns, Pat Cummins, Cameron Inexperienced, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Michael Neser, Tim Paine (c), James Pattinson, Will Pucovski, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Mitchell Swepson, Matthew Wade, David Warner

Australia A squad:

Sean Abbott, Ashton Agar, Joe Burns, Jackson Fowl, Alex Carey (wk), Harry Conway, Cameron Inexperienced, Marcus Harris, Travis Head, Moises Henriques, Nic Maddinson, Mitchell Marsh (topic to health), Michael Neser, Tim Paine, James Pattinson, Will Pucovski, Mark Steketee, Will Sutherland, Mitchell Swepson

Supply hyperlink

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *