Viewers have blown up after a detailed inspection of a DRS resolution that just about value Steve Smith his wicket on day three of the SCG Check appeared to point out a daunting error.
Smith and everybody watching Australia’s second innings have been left bemused when Ravi Ashwin satisfied his skipper to refer an LBW resolution when the Aussie star missed an tried slog-sweep when he was on simply two.
The primary replay had former Aussie opener Michael Slater declaring the ball had simply missed leg stump in commentary for Channel 7, however viewers have been surprised when ball-tracking indicated it might have clipped leg stump.
It was innocent sufficient on this event as a result of the sphere umpire had given Smith not out, which means he survived.
However should you zoomed in on the picture, there was a transparent distinction between the place Smith’s off stump stood – and the place DRS had overlaid the wicket.
Followers have been fuming, fearing the expertise had failed.
“There is no such thing as a manner that was hitting the stumps,” one wrote. “They’ve clearly overlaid the stumps right here incorrectly. Look the place the off stump is on the graphic in comparison with in actuality.”
At a time when there’s been a renewed push by former cricketers together with Sachin Tendulkar to change the system to make the choice out so long as any a part of the ball is occurring to hit the stumps, this newest episode received’t precisely fill the cricket group with confidence the DRS will be trusted.