From Ajit Wadekar to MS Dhoni, Aakash Chopra ranks ‘Top 6’ captains of Indian cricket

Chopra gave the No.Four spot to the present Indian skipper Virat Kohli, hailing him for invoking a killer intuition within the staff.

MS Dhoni and Aakash Chopra
MS Dhoni and Aakash Chopra. (Picture Supply: Twitter)

With all the world below a lockdown because of the pandemic that’s COVID-19, it has given an opportunity to each one in every of us to delve on the previous chapters of our lives. It has given us an opportunity to reminisce in regards to the erstwhile moments. Public figures from all world wide are taking to social media to work together with their followers by way of Query-Reply classes. 

Former Indian cricketer-turned commentator Aakash Chopra, by way of his official Youtube channel, has been churning out sensible content material for his viewers. A couple of days in the past, Chopra posted a video the place he listed down who in line with him are the very best yorker specialists of all time.

And, on Wednesday, Chopra was again with one other sensible video the place he names the six finest Indian captains of all time. The previous opener positioned former captain Ajit Wadekar on the No.6 spot, hailing him for Check sequence wins in England and West Indies in 1971 whereas additionally asserting that it was below his management that the seeds of India changing into a powerhouse have been sowed.

“Below Ajit Wadekar, we gained for the primary time in West Indies and England- each in 1971. He might have captained in solely 18 matches, wherein we didn’t win a whole lot of Check matches, however then we’re speaking of the 1970s right here. Below Wadekar, India began profitable and the seeds of them changing into a superpower have been laid below his management” Chopra stated.

At No.5, got here Rahul Dravid, below whom India achieved a whole lot of highs which embrace Check sequence wins in West Indies [2006] and England [2007] for the primary time after 35 and 21 years respectively.

“He additionally didn’t captain for a very long time, he truly relinquished the management [post winning the Test series in England in 2007]. He noticed a number of highs however he additionally noticed a really unhealthy low which was the 2007 World Cup in West Indies the place the staff was knocked out in th3 first spherical. However then, below his management, we went on to beat England in England, a spot the place we haven’t managed to win submit that. His win share can also be excellent” Chopra added.

Chopra gave the No.Four spot to the present Indian skipper Virat Kohli, hailing him for invoking a killer intuition within the staff and likewise for the truth that India is on the numero-uno spot within the rankings for 3 years working.

“He has an excellent staff, he’s steadily changing into a greater captain. He might not have gained an ICC trophy however below his management, however from the previous three years the staff has been on the numero-uno spot within the Check rankings. He can even play the ultimate of Check championship and should presumably additionally win it. So far as ICC occasions are involved, the staff has at all times made its option to the semis and even the finals.

Aakash Chopra names MS Dhoni as India’s finest ever captain

The third place in Chopra’s listing went to Sourav Ganguly, who he hailed for bringing a whirlwind change in Indian cricket submit the 2000 match-fixing scandal. Chopra additionally hailed Ganguly for creating precocious skills like Zaheer Khan, Yuvraj Singh, Virender Sehwag, Harbhajan Singh into world beaters and for additionally serving to the Males in Blue scale the abroad hoodoo with sensible performances in England, Australia and Pakistan.

The 1983 world cup victory was probably the most vital second in Indian cricket, and Kapil Dev’s impressed management alongside together with his particular person performances [175 vs Zimbabwe] was one of many causes behind that epic heist, and the Haryana Hurricane discovered himself on the second spot in Akash’s listing.

The numero-uno spot in Chopra’s listing went to Mahendra Singh Dhoni, below whom, India went on to win every of the three ICC events- T20 WC 2007, 2011 50-over WC and 2013 Champions Trophy- moreover scaling the No. 1 spot in ICC Check rating again in 2009.

Right here’s how Chopra ranked the six Indian skippers– 6. Ajit Wadekar, 5. Rahul Dravid, 4. Virat Kohli, 3. Sourav Ganguly, 2. Kapil Dev and 1. MS Dhoni. 

Right here’s the video:

You May Also Like

About the Author:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *