Breaking News

ICC to elect a new chairperson by December 2020

20 0


The Worldwide Cricket Council’s (ICC) board have confirmed the method for the election of its subsequent chairperson is underway and is predicted to be concluded by early December.

Imran Khwaja had served because the interim chair of the ICC since June when Shashank Manohar stepped down following two phrases within the function.

ICC to nominate chairperson by December

The ICC has reiterated that solely administrators or former administrators might serve within the function of chairman.

For the reason that final overhaul of their structure, the function has successfully been decreased to that of a symbolic figurehead with little precise energy compared to the previous workplace of president.

In 2016, the place of the president was abolished, with the Chairman and CEO head of the Govt Council. Manohar has up to now been the one man to carry the place completely.

“The method, which is being overseen by the Unbiased Chairman of the ICC Audit Committee, has commenced and the primary stage is for the nominations of potential candidates to be made by present Board Administrators by 18 October 2020,” an ICC press launch earlier this week learn.

“Any nominee will then have to be seconded by one other Board Director to turn into a candidate within the election.  

“As outlined within the ICC Structure, to be eligible, potential candidates should be both a present or former ICC Director.”

The candidates

Candidates for the function are believed to incorporate Khwaja in addition to BCCI president Sourav Ganguly and former chairman of the England Cricket Board Colin Graves and former CWI head Dave Cameron.

Ganguly’s bid has been supported by quite a lot of distinguished former cricketers wanting to see the organisation headed by a certified former participant moderately than anyone from an administrative background.

The previous India captain earned the help of Proteas Director of Cricket Graeme Smith, though the CSA board instantly made it clear that Smith didn’t converse for them.

The ICC final held elections for the place in 2016, when Manohar was elected to his first time period via a secret poll. In 2018, Manohar retained the job for a second time period after he was elected having run unopposed. 

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *