Breaking News

Ranji Trophy 2021-22 Groups Announced By BCCI

59 0

Ranji Trophy 2021-22 season’s much-anticipated teams have been introduced by BCCI. Mumbai, Karnataka, and Delhi have been clubbed within the digital “group of Demise” within the Ranji Trophy, which is able to begin from January 5 subsequent yr. Together with the multiple-time Ranji champions are Hyderabad, Maharashtra, and Uttarakhand within the Elite group C.

Defending champions Saurashtra are clubbed with Tamil Nadu, Railways, Jammu and Kashmir, Jharkhand, and Goa in Elite group D. Final yr’s runners-up Bengal has a comparatively simple group (Elite B) with Vidarbha, Haryana, Kerala, Tripura, and Rajasthan.

Ranji Trophy, , BCCI File Photo
Ranji Trophy, BCCI File Picture

Ranji Trophy  Will Begin On January 13, 2022

One other attention-grabbing group will probably be Elite group A that has Gujarat, Punjab, Himachal Pradesh, Madhya Pradesh, Providers, and Assam. The Elite E group has Andhra, Uttar Pradesh, Baroda, Odisha, Chhattisgarh, and Pondicherry.

The Plate group will comprise Chandigarh, Meghalaya, Bihar, Nagaland, Manipur, Mizoram, Sikkim, Arunachal Pradesh. The six cities the place matches will probably be performed are Mumbai (Elite A), Bengaluru (Elite B), Bengaluru (Elite C), Ahmedabad (Elite D), Trivandrum (Elite E), and Chennai (Plate). There will probably be a five-day quarantine for groups forward of every sport.

Saurashtra, Defending Champions, Last Winners Of Ranji Trophy Image: Twitter
Saurashtra, Defending Champions, Final Winners Of Ranji Trophy Picture: Twitter

India’s males’s home calendar will start with the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy on November 4, whereas the Ranji Trophy, the nation’s premier first-class competitors, begins on January 13, 2022. The Vijay Hazare Trophy will get underway from December 8, with impartial venues getting used throughout all tournaments.

Final yr, the Ranji Trophy, in addition to junior cricket, weren’t held due to the COVID-19 pandemic and the operational difficulties of making a bio-secure setting for 1000’s of gamers and assist workers. Whereas gamers misplaced out on important earnings, the BCCI copped a variety of flak for an excessive amount of concentrate on the cash-rich league IPL.

The Saurashtra staff received the Ranji Trophy title for the primary time in 70 years. Saurashtra grew to become the champion primarily based on the lead achieved within the first innings of the ultimate in opposition to Bengal. Earlier, Saurashtra was often known as Navanagar, Western India, and received the trophies in 1936-37 and 1943-44.  It was renamed Saurashtra in 1950 and began collaborating on this home event.

They lastly received the Ranji Trophy for the primary time in 2019–20 once they beat Bengal on a first-innings lead within the remaining at Rajkot.

Ranji Trophy Last Will Be At Kolkata On March 16

In an intensive listing of home fixtures launched by the BCCI on Monday, the board additionally confirmed that Delhi will host the Syed Mushtaq Ali remaining, on November 22, whereas Kolkata will stage the Ranji finale, on March 16.

The Ranji Trophy will start after the groups full a five-day quarantine, with the matches being held at Mumbai, Bangalore, Kolkata, Ahmedabad, Trivandrum, and Chennai. Kolkata will host all of the knockout matches, which is able to start on February 20 after the groups serve one other five-day quarantine interval.

Kolkata, Eden Gardens
Eden Gardens, Kolkata

Every squad for the Ranji Trophy will comprise a most of 30 members. Of this, there must be a minimal of 20 gamers and the remaining will probably be assist workers. The assist workers may also embody a staff doctor to handle COVID-19 associated points.

Ranji Trophy Groupings:

Elite A: Gujarat, Punjab, Himachal, Madhya Pradesh, Providers, and Assam (in Mumbai)

Elite B: Bengal, Vidarbha, Rajasthan, Kerala, Haryana, and Tripura (in Bangalore)

Elite C: Karnataka, Delhi, Mumbai, Hyderabad, Maharashtra, and Uttarakhand (in Kolkata)

Elite D: Saurashtra, Tamil Nadu, Railways, J & Ok, Jharkhand, and Goa (in Ahmedabad)

Elite E: Andhra, Uttar Pradesh, Baroda, Odisha, Chhattisgarh, and Pondicherry (in Trivandrum)

Plate: Chandigarh, Meghalaya, Bihar, Nagaland, Manipur, Mizoram, Sikkim, Arunachal (in Chennai)

Supply hyperlink

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *