Notice: Undefined variable: header7_reaction_menus in /var/home/najdionl/cricnews/wp-content/themes/top-news/template-parts/headers/header-7.php on line 7
Breaking News

KL Rahul’s Disallowed Catch By 3rd Umpire A Shocking Decision : Gautam Gambhir

52 0


KL Rahul anchored the chase for his crew, scoring 67 off 55 as PBKS chased down the 166-run goal with three balls to spare. Nevertheless, issues might have been completely different if KL Rahul had been given out within the penultimate over of the chase, however the third umpire made an enormous name, deciding that KKR’s Rahul Tripathi had not taken the catch cleanly.

Punjab Kings remained in competition to qualify for the playoffs because of a five-wicket win over Kolkata Knight Riders in Dubai on Friday. The victory helped PBKS go stage on 10 factors with KKR and Mumbai Indians, who’ve a sport in hand over each the groups.

Rahul Tripathi's catch was disallowed by the third umpire.© BCCI/IPL
Rahul Tripathi’s catch was disallowed by the third umpire.© BCCI/IPL

KL Rahul’s Disallowed Catch Was A Shocker: Gautam Gambhir

KL Rahul pulled a shortish Shivam Mavi supply with Rahul Tripathi working in from the deep and diving ahead to take a superb catch, or that’s what many thought. However the third umpire thought in any other case. Former cricketers Gautam Gambhir and Graeme Swann, talking on Star Sports activities’ post-match present, tore into the third umpire. Ex-KKR captain Gautam Gambhir termed the choice a “shocker”.

“That was a shocker. This may finish somebody’s marketing campaign. It was clearly out. He shouldn’t have even seen the replay greater than as soon as. Even with out the slow-mo, it appeared out. Issues might have modified. We have now seen Punjab panic within the final over. These types of shockers can’t occur, particularly on the stage of IPL. It may very well be very unfair not solely to the participant however to the complete franchise,” stated Gambhir.

Gautam Gambhir AFP
Gautam Gambhir AFP

However the end result might have been completely different had the third umpire deemed Rahul Tripathi’s catch as authorized which might have seen the again of Rahul with Punjab needing 11 from 9 balls. The controversial second occurred within the 19th over when KL Rahul hooked a brief supply from Shivam Mavi in the direction of the mid-wicket boundary. Rahul Tripathi, who was stationed on the boundary line by Eoin Morgan, ran in to take the catch whereas diving ahead.

Graeme Swann Witnessed One Of The Worst Bit Of third Umpire’s Determination

Former England spinner Graeme Swann, didn’t mince his phrases both, calling the choice one of many “worst” third umpiring calls he had seen.

“I’ve simply witnessed one of many worst bits of third umpiring in my life. That’s blatantly out. Working in and brought a superb catch. That’s very good. It’s out in full movement,” stated Swann.

KL Rahul
KL Rahul (Picture Credit score: Twitter)

Whereas KL Rahul was dismissed on the second ball of the ultimate over, PBKS’ Shahrukh Khan stored his cool to get the crew over the road. Finally, Shah Rukh Khan, who scored an unbeaten nine-ball 22, smashed a six on the third supply within the remaining over to seal a much-needed win for his crew.



Supply hyperlink

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *